Friday, April 28, 2017

Verses on Virtue Versus Vice

Vise

Doggerel Verses, That Is . . .

Vice is its own reward,
Which draws me ever toward
That said, if sad, back ward.

Labels: ,

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Sometimes even more than you sow . . .

Investment

They that sow the wind, shall reap the whirlwind - an astonishingly good return on your investment!

Labels:

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Exceptional Rule

Always a Bad Apple
Sometimes Even a Pear of Them

There's an exception to every rule - except this one.

Labels:

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Always nipping at our heels . . .

Buddy the Blue Heeler

Time is a great heeler.

Labels:

Monday, April 24, 2017

The Law!

British Law?

The law is an ass . . . in British English.

Does this mean that the law in Britain is a stupid donkey? Not that donkeys are actually stupid. But what are their putative characteristics to which the law's characteristics can be compared? Surely nothing very positive!

Dickens suggests by "idiot" that "ass" signifies "idiocy," but is Dickens the original voice of this so-called proverb?

Labels:

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Math Anxiety


There's safety in numbers, so go fourth and multiply!

Labels:

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Grammar Rules

Wager Your Wages?

The wages of sin is death to subject-verb agreement.

Labels:

Friday, April 21, 2017

A Wise Old Saying

Louis Pasteur

In sermons old, they often say what lies:
The age of miracles is pasteurized.
But past your eyes, it can't at all be seen, though even that won't stop our unbeliev'n.

Labels:

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Ozark Expressions: Excellently Good!

Ozarks

Here's a good restatement of an excellent, honorable principle:
If you ain't got nuthen' good to say, don't say nuthen'.
Cogitate on that for a while . . .

Labels:

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Scarlett O'Hara's Comeuppance

Gone with the Wind, Cynara

Tomorrow is another day that never comes.

Labels: